Rich

How do you stow your cables?  

45 members have voted

1. 1. As per pics.

• A
    • B
    • C
    • D

A] Coiled using the cable's natural twist and then fastened in a round?

B] As per A but then fastened as an '8'?

C] Quickly coiled round your hand & elbow ignoring the cable twist?

D] Shudder.

PSX_20230701_111742.jpg

PSX_20230701_111711.jpg

PSX_20230701_111634.jpg

PSX_20230701_111552.jpg

• Like 1

Apart from one OBBM Jack lead lead that will only sit properly coiled, I have for the past 30+ years "coiled" my long leads by looping them in halves until they are at the right length to knot loosely in the middle. Despite this being supposedly terrible practice not a single one of these cables as failed during this time. IME, any other storage method results in a case/bag full of leads resembling photo 4 no matter how carefully I coil and clip them.

• Like 5

I did a degree in music tech. In our first studio session, we were shown how to do A and that was the expectation of the studio. The beauty of it is when you've got long runs. You can pretty much hold on to one end, throw the lead and it shoots out in a straight line to your destination. Or you can uncoil half and leave it there tidily next to a mic stand rather than have excess leads going everywhere. 

• Like 3

It's an interesting question. Essentially about how cables break.

First of all I've always had a system. Without organisation cables tangle with each other and set up time is considerably extended. Untangling cables under time pressure inevitably seems to result in a certain amount of tugging which is probably worse for cables than any frowned upon method of securing a cable from untangling. It's many years since I last allowed anyone to wind my cables for me :) I've always run the PA so I have a lot of cables probably £1,000 worth or more (actually a lot more as I must have a couple of hundred cables at least, OMG!)