Why become a member? ×

Basschat guitar (not bass) forum

MacDaddy

As a bassist I've always been against the idea of Basschat having a wee corner where those who play both guitar and bass could congregate and speak in hushed tones. It is [b]Bass[/b]chat after all.

But seen as I am now playing the guitar in a band myself, I'm suddenly thinking it's not such a bad idea [size=2]*looks for 'hypocrite? Me?'[/size][size=2] emoticon*[/size] :D

Any thoughts?

It's been discussed plenty on here and decided against, the forum is a hefty size as it is and it would simply dilute the content IMO (it's a Bass site, not a all-emcompassing guitar/music/instrument site)

There's nothing to stop you registering a domain and setting up your own forum though :)

Si

Hmmm. As a former guitarist AND former tutor I should want this. In truth I'm not sure I do. I'd agree that some of the folks inhabiting guitar sites can be a bit anal, but when all's said this is actually a bass site.

I once raised (with others) the idea of a Lefty subforum. To be fair to the mods they did give it serious consideration (which is more than I could say at the time about some of my fellow BC'ers - you know who you are :ph34r: ), but again came down against (we do have our own thread on the For Sale forum though - woohoo! :) )

I hope you'll forgive me if this all feels a bit familiar.

that would be like me going into WHsmiths, looking at the multitude of guitar related magazines... then spotting my oasis, (the lonely bass guitar mag) and finding out half the magazine has guitar content...

i really think we are all equal as musicians, but this electric bass forum with its great info, is too important to start diluting... :)

Edited by bubinga5

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1325701512' post='1486374']
Could you then please point us in the direction of a good one that is as friendly, interesting and musically diverse as BassChat?
[/quote]