Why become a member? ×

What Bass should I buy?(between 1000-1500)

TJ1

Hi

I am new to the Bass guitar, but want to learn with a good versatile instrument, that is not restrictive in terms of style or sound.

Any recommendations appreciated. The budget is for the instrument only. I had a look at the Fender series, and I am sure they are good, but for some reason i am always hesitant to buy the market leaders.

Depends.  Horses and courses.  Different types of bass have different sounds, and suit different genres.  What sort of music are you intending to play / like? You probably deffo want a four string with frets.  If you want something simple to get you bedded in straight away I'd recommend a precision type bass. A minimum of controls so you can focus on learning to play and still sound great.  If you want an instrument that will grow with you I'd recommend a Sire jazz bass, which allows you to 'dial in' no end of different sounds. Both these can be had in good quality for much less than your budget.

In fact you can spend a small fraction of your budget and still get a good instrument.  The consensus is that nowadays there's no such thing as a rubbish bass unless you really try hard to find one.

If you're not totally sure and want to experiment consider second hand.  BassChat has a For Sale section which is in fact like a lending libary.  Basses go round and round, changing hands for about the same amount each time, so you never lose much. 

But as Greek says, expect well over a hundred replies with mostly conflicting advice, leaving you probably more confused at the end than you are now.  

Edited by lownote12
  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

with this budget, you can get almost anything you want, 2nd hand (maybe not a Ritter, or a Fodera...)