Why become a member? ×

Is it acceptable for Pro musicians to drink.

TimR

On another thread a story was told where a pro drummer had been speeding up and drinking on a gig. The Sax player stopped mid gig and told the drummer off for speeding up. The drummer then said I do this for a living threw his toys out of the pram and packed up, leaving the rest of the band to finish the gig.

I'm talking about pro backline players of function, theatre, big name tours here, rather than pro musician doing a pub gig or famous singers on the vodka. ;)

In my profession you would get the sack instantly if you hadn't electrocuted yourself first. Drivers - obviously the same. But I know of certain jobs where people would go to the pub Friday lunch and be useless Friday afternoon.

Thoughts?

I allow myself one pint (bitter - not vodka!) before a gig, and that's it.

Others may have a higher tolerance so I don't try to count what my bandmates are drinking, but it's years since I've been prepared to play with someone who has clearly had too much.

Never drink on a gig where I'm being hired to do a job.
Sometimes on originals gigs i might have a couple, but I want to be in a state where I'm fully aware. I remember years ago I did a gig where I was rather pissed, recorded it, played fine, but I don't remember it at all, don't recall any enjoyment etc. What's the point in that? I play music because it gives me something, so putting myself into a state when I don't feel that enjoyment seems utterly pointless.

Si

[quote name='Chris2112' timestamp='1331226270' post='1569874']
If you're doing gigs at a 'professional' level I don't think you should be drinking before or through the gig. I wouldn't turn up to work pissed, I don't see why anyone who cared about their musicianship would either.
[/quote]
+1 if you're being paid to play treat it as you would any job and expect to get the heave ho if you're tipsy/stoned whatever...