Why become a member? ×

When did you realise….. you weren’t going to “make it”?

Rayman

As a professional musician I mean?

A generalised question I guess, as some of you are professionals, but I’ll wager most of us aren’t.

Did you think you’d be famous? Did you thing you could be a session pro? Did you wait for the call that never came?

When did you realise that it was never going to be any of those things? It’s…… just…… a……………. hobby 😳

• Like 2
  • Sad 1

It was never a 'thing', for me, at any time. My ambitions were, and still are, far more modest (and in keeping with my abilities...). I was playing professionally in variety bands in France for some years, but took other employment once family matters became the priority; I've kept on playing ever since, but as a sideline. Fame and fortune have never been an objective. It may be called complaisance, but I don't think I've missed out on much. I spent several years doing sound and lights for a professional touring band, as a 'hobby', and wouldn't want that lifestyle at all. Happy bunny, really. :hi:

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

A gig in soho. Raymond Review. 

”singer, keys and bass player stay, get rid of the drummer, guitarist and one of the violinists - they don’t look right”

with a representative of Universal music.

and Eric Hall. Knob.

closest I ever got.

2007/8. 

• Like 3
  • Sad 1

5 minutes ago, Lozz196 said:

1991,  since 1987 I’d been in two bands in no succession with guys who were desperate to make it, all that showed me was music was my hobby, what I did for fun and that I had no intention of making it my day job.

Same, late 80's playing in a band several of who went on to success made me realise that the type of success in question was to be avoided like the plague, can think of few careers I'd less have than being in a successful band (I should caveat that with my 100% certainty that I do not have the temperament for it, had I done I might have chosen differently).  

• Like 1