Why become a member? ×

I auditioned for a "gig-ready" band!

thebrig

I decided to respond to an ad I saw in which a “gig-ready” band needed a bass player to complete their line-up.

The guy told me that they were all very experienced musicians, played in bands for years, and aim to be gigging in a few weeks time.

Now I’m not very confident as I am a late starter, and have only been playing for about five years.
I’ve been in two bands and have gigged a fair bit, but still feel that I am just a novice player, but I thought to myself, just go for it!

Anyway, last night the guy emailed me a selection of songs which totalled [u]seventeen[/u], and I thought sh*t!
I might be able to learn three or four maybe, but I spent today going through them, and I actually nailed the lot, so I thought that even though I might not be up to their standard, at least they should appreciate the fact that I have learnt all the songs in a day.

So this evening, I print off the list and arrive at the studio, and place the list on the floor so that I can see it.
They have a look at it and say "we[i] only know a few of them, and we have only touched on the others briefly[/i]", so I replied, "[i]tell me which ones and we can just do them[/i]", and they had to discuss amongst themselves which ones they [u]all[/u] knew.

We run through just three of them, and they were all over the place with them.
I then suggested we run through the lot anyway, and see if we can make anything of them.
Total waste of time, they weren't even sure what key they were in.

These guys are totally deluded, if they believe they will be ready to hit the road in a few week’s time.

[b][i]Has this happened to anyone else at auditions?[/i][/b]

BTW, I even had to pay my share of the room!

Mind you, I now feel better about my ability, and I suppose that if I can learn seventeen songs in a day, then I can't be too bad!

Edited by thebrig

[quote name='silentbob' timestamp='1347321615' post='1799429']