Why become a member? ×

*WOOT! UPDATE* Auditions - What Are Your Do's And Don'ts?

discreet

[b]Auditions - What Are Your Do's And Don'ts?[/b]

I have an audition next month (November). Though I've been playing for many years, somehow I've always managed to get work through people I already know, or friends of friends, etc.

This means that I haven't done a [i]single [/i]audition in 35 years of bass playing.

Apart from the bleeding obvious, i.e. don't turn up pissed and don't try to get off with one of the backing singers (yet), has anyone any useful information, do's and don'ts, stories about your audition experiences and what you would have done given a second chance, what to avoid, and so forth?

Thanks! I await your sage advice with bated trousers.

Edited by discreet

only ever had to do one audition, for a band who had never had a bass player anyway! can't really offer anything more than the obvious, don't be cocky, or try too hard to impress. play your way and enjoy it, if you're enjoying it then i imagine they will too :)

i wish you luck :)

[size=4][color=#222222][font=Arial]I've only done 3 auditions in the last 10 years and I failed them all. The audition before that, which I passed, was over 25 years ago. I always get gigs from guys I play with or who have seen me play, so it looks like I’m not doing something right myself! [/font][/color][/size]

[size=4][font=Arial][color=#000000]Just be on time, know the numbers and relax.[/color][/font][/size]

Edited by chris_b

We auditioned a drummer last night and he did a great job, so this stuff is fresh in my mind.

What impressed us -

he turned up at the right place a few minutes before the stated time
friendly
had prepared the material we sent him
had everything he needed with him
told us in advance when he was going to do something a bit different than the recordings he'd been sent
didn't overplay when dropped in the deep end with stuff he had't been given to prepare.