Why become a member? ×

Lightweight = Lightsound

Bloc Riff Nut

I started playing about 20yrs ago then stopped for a number of years. Two years ago I started playing again, but in the meantime all the gear had changed. The lightweights had appeared. There are a lot of lightweight threads and interest in the new fandangled lightweight gear. So much so that I ended up going down that road myself. I bought a Markbass CMD102P 18KG and 300W and what I believed to be a great sound, loud, clean, plenty of bottom...

That was untill I got my new rig - Trace Elliot V6 head and Eden D410XLT.
The new rig (Trace/Eden) is secondhand and cost about 1200Euros and weighs 60+ kilos.
The old rig (Markbass) was new and cost around 1200Euros and weighed 18 kilos.

The sound of the big and heavy stuff - Deeper, fatter, bassier, ballsier, crunchier, smoother, sweeter and the rest.
Trade in the kilos and you trade in sound quality. Some brands with boutique price tags can limit the damage but at the end of the day BIG(and heavy) = Beautiful.

Be a man and start lifting the weights!

Phil.

I'd agree with the weight is best argument when I comes to amps - old heavy amps are miles better.

When it comes to cabs - i'll stick to claber's finest - i've yet to come across anything that compares to my super twelve

You've moved from a 2x10 to a 4x10, I'm not suprised it's fatter :)

Cab size/shape matters, but I don't see how weight can have any impact unless the weight saving has been at the expense of the build quality.

Saying that, I wouldn't mind a V6, and I'd agree that you can't beat a full valve amp if that's the tone you're after.

Edited by Wil

[quote name='Muzz' post='1226311' date='May 10 2011, 03:23 PM']Lightweight = Lightsound?
One of the finest examples ... of utter bollocks I've ever read on here. :)[/quote]

+1

My MarkBass SA450 & 2 x Barefaced Compacts is as deep and powerful as any other comparable rig, if not more so.