Why become a member? ×

Jam night skills?

Waddycall

So I’m currently bandless and am nursing a bit of a nerve issue in my right arm so don’t have any current plans to join a band. I’m hoping that may change in 6 months or so.

in the meantime I’m planning on attending a few jam nights in the autumn. I’ve never played bass at a jam night. Ive been playing bass and guitar for 30 years but never been much of an improviser. 

To try and avoid jam night embarrassment I’m intending to practice lots of blues stuff etc but is there anything else that’s regular jam night stuff? Are there any particular songs that are likely to be played at these things???

Cheers,

pete

• Like 1

I do a lot of these in my downtime and usually people say "this one is just C F and G" (for example) so you just go from there. People change keys, use capos. Maybe have a scouting party, go check one out and join in where you can. The main thing is to have fun! I've busked along to loads of things I'd never heard and people are pretty forgiving, especially during intros as players find their place. 

• Like 2

Most jam nights have a core of regulars, at least some of whom will play the same (bloody) songs every (bloody) week. It's well worth a couple of scouting missions to check out the vibe, the repertoire, and what you're up against, before announcing loudly "I play bass". 🤨

Those musicians who always play Alright Now or The Thrill Is Gone or Rocking In The Free World or whatever are not necessarily a bad thing, because at least you can prep those specific songs and then drop a few hints.

More broadly, at a well-attended jam night each combination of players that gets up will very likely be unique, never played together before in that line-up. That puts a premium on calling songs that any competent musician should know, the sort of pop/rock hits that turn up on every covers band's set list.

If you (as a bassist) want to call any songs at all, then you'd better be able to take lead vocals.