Why become a member? ×

P&J

Ant1972

Just out of interest...

Are there many bassists in big name bands who switch between P and J basses for different songs... or do they all tend to stick with the one style of bass for their set (and just tinker with pedals/effects)?

Sorry, for the dumb/naive question (I'm a noob bassist).... while I've seen guitarists switch guitars during a set, I've never really noticed bass players doing it.

Daryl Jones in the Stones switches between P basses and his Laklands.

Bassists can switch between many basses in the studio, but most tend not to on stage. Drums and bass tend to stick to a collective sound whereas the front line can be changing their sound and effects on every verse, let alone song.

As Chris rightly points out, it's more common for the bassist and drummer to settle on one sound and stick to that; usually tweaking the bass sound to taste rather than changing it for something completely different.

I'd have thought the most common reason for guitarists to switch guitars mid-set are:

1. Different tunings

2. Broken strings

3. Overestimating how much a rodent's posterior the audience gives about the different tones available from their three very similar-looking Les Pauls

4. Just wanting to show off.

I distinctly remember seeing one group whose two guitarists had very differing approaches. One of them had a rack with half a dozen guitars, which he insisted on swapping over every other song. The other just came on with a Telecaster. After watching them both, my friends and I agreed that "Just-a-Tele" man was the much better guitarist, and that "I-will-definitely-need-all-six-of-these" man was possibly overcompensating.

• Like 2

Chris Squire used to swap between his Ric and other obscure looking basses on the tour i saw them.

Nick Beggs changes between his Ric, Spector and his Chapman stick basses.

Never really seen anyone change between P & J basses mid set. 

Dave