Why become a member? ×

Your Strengths & Weaknesses

Bluewine

You've seen all the YouTube clips of 2 years old with incredible technical ability and unbelievable chops.

Fact, no matter how much most of practice and study we're never going to play at that level.

Have you identified what you are good at, your strengths and where you fall short, your weaknesses.

Please comment 

Blue

FB_IMG_1531108732532.jpg

9 minutes ago, thepurpleblob said:

I have decent gear, a car that starts, I turn up on time having learned the parts, I don't drink or take drugs and I'm not excessively grumpy.

My ability is entirely mediocre! 

Excellent selling points in my opinion.

Blue

• Like 3

I like to think my strength is knowing how to be in a band as well as understanding my role in a band.

I've been playing in bands since 1966. I have good basic understanding of chords ,what notes are in all the chords and how to make sense of it all. The ability to play bass lines that make musical sense and provide a solid foundation for any song. I'm certainly not the guy with the fancy riffs and a lot of technical ability.

I'm not a complainer, I can't control others members behaviors or ideas. I sign on to play gigs , play bass and sing background vocals. I don't care about material choice, it's not why I'm in the band.

My weakness, age. Playing 4 hour gigs is becoming increasingly difficult for me.

Blue

I,m lucky in the fact that I have excellent timekeeping abilities. I dont just mean getting to gigs early, but have  a good "Internal Clock" if that makes sense.

Give me a good drummer with the same and we are a rock solid rhythm section.

My weakness is that as a musician I am lazy. A couple of run throughs and its "Yea, that'll do" 🙄

Edited by Hobbayne
  • Like 1

1 minute ago, Hobbayne said:

I,m lucky in the fact that I have excellent timekeeping abilities. I dont just mean getting to gigs early, but have  good "Internal Clock" if that makes sense.