Why become a member? ×

Playing for 30 years

BobVbass

Something that's been depressing me lately. It seems everyone I speak to (whether they still play or not) regales me of stories of playing huge gigs, playing on telly, being a member of some band that supported the Beatles or the Who or something, having albums out - everthing like that

Me, I've been playing for 30 years this year and I have exactly zero claims to fame, no success, no albums, no support slots - 30 years of gigs to a few people, sometimes a few hundred, but that's it. Maybe I should take the hint :|

Not at all, it`s not the names you play to, or the releases you`ve put out, it`s how much you enjoy playing and gigging. Only stop if you no longer have the enthusiasm. The only way I`ll stop is if I no longer love doing it, or if I`m not able to due to health issues.

Think of it like someone who plays football - should they give up just cos they`ve never shared a pitch with Wayne Rooney, or not been on Match of The Day? No, they play cos they love the game.

[quote name='Lozz196' timestamp='1457344212' post='2997452']
Not at all, it`s not the names you play to, or the releases you`ve put out, it`s how much you enjoy playing and gigging. Only stop if you no longer have the enthusiasm. The only way I`ll stop is if I no longer love doing it, or if I`m not able to due to health issues.

Think of it like someone who plays football - should they give up just cos they`ve never shared a pitch with Wayne Rooney, or not been on Match of The Day? No, they play cos they love the game.
[/quote]

I was going to say exactly the same thing. If you've got 30 years of love and joy under your belt from doing something you love doing you're a rich man.

when i started out i played for the enjoyment and joined bands to enhance that. i still do that now, the good gigs, albums etc are just lovely perks that have come along the way.