Why become a member? ×

Learning songs, I'm struggling a bit here.

Les

Now in 3 bands, all starts 30th January.

Decided a while ago I wanted to play a lot more. Got my wish and this years gigs have almost trebled. :)

I'm really struggling to learn all the songs though. Nothing that is beyond me it's just I can't seem to set them all
in my memory and it's starting to worry me. :(

I'm talking maybe 50 - 55 new (to me) songs. Never have any problems usually but in all honesty only ever been in one band at a time before.

I know a fair few of you do this kind of thing.

Any hints or tips to help me ?

cheers

Les

What JapanAxe said. Repeated listening is great and has worked well for me in the past. It's much easier to busk your way through a song when you're familiar with it, you'll pick up on the musical and lyrical signposts to the changes more intuitively and won't need a mountain of notes in front of you. I do a lot of fairly last minute deps and i'm not a proficient sight reader so i'll listen as much as I can, work out the bulk of it by ear as I go and occasionally look at a dodgy tab or YouTube video to nudge me in the right direction for any tricky bits. I'll maybe have the starting chord marked on my setlist on the night, find it more useful than the key when the count in comes quick and you haven't got time to think! I will occasionally write out the changes for a section of a song that I'm not overly familiar with - rarely write out a whole tune though, verses and choruses usually stick, it'll be the odd middle eight or bridge that isn't repeated enough to be drummed into you. Most pop, rock and soul material you'll play on function gigs is fairly straightforward in terms of structure and changes, picking up the basic form of it and getting any majorly prominent hooks or riffs down will get you a lot of the way there when you've got to learn a set or two in a hurry.