Why become a member? ×

What can replace a GB Streamliner?

bassist_lewis

So I've been using my Genz-benz Streamliner for about 2 years now and I love the sound and functionality. However, if it were ever to malfunction beyond repair it would be irreplaceable now that Fender has shut down GB.

Aside from buying one second-hand, is there another amp with an equivalent volume to size ratio?

Fender have brought out some heads based on the Genz stuff, but I don't know how loud they are.

Another promising head is the Bugera Veyron. These appear to be very heavily influenced by the Streamliner, and there is no shortage of watts!
No idea when they come to market, or price, although Bugera (Behringer) tend to be very competitively priced.

http://www.dv247.com/guitars/bugera-bv1001t-veyron-t--207798

This might be worth a look - I've read good things about the Carvins: [url="http://www.bassgear.co.uk/product/carvin-amps/carvin-bx1500-1500w-bass-head/"]http://www.bassgear.co.uk/product/carvin-amps/carvin-bx1500-1500w-bass-head/[/url]

It's a bit bigger but only weighs 10lbs.

1.5kw should do it :D

I am intrigued by these [url="http://www.bassbarn.co.uk/epages/es140349.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/es140349/Categories/Taurus"]Taurus[/url] amps, but very limited info available. Looks like the hybrid models should appeal to Streamliner users.. (not price wise, unfortunately)

[quote name='Musicman20' timestamp='1398460755' post='2434479']
Until some bright spark realises Genz were really onto a brilliant product....nothing.

The GK amps are very loud but I don't personally think they are as well made.

Carvin amps are an option but not the same size/tone.
[/quote]

Not a sales plug as I'm not hugely bothered about selling it, but, regards GK.
In my ad you will see the condition of my GK MB 500 after about 50 Dog and Duck and a couple of festival gigs.
Mind you, it has always been protected in transit, in a laptop bag :lol: .