Why become a member? ×

Stage Appearance

bonzodog

Sorry if this topic has been mentioned before but I am a relatively newbie. I have played in a few bands over the years and am currently in one and setting up another working covers band. I always seem to be in a minority when it comes to being conscious of how the band looks on stage. I don't mean dancing around (although I do prefer to move a bit rather than stand still). I mean the tidiness of the stage itself and what we wear. I have known fellow band mates in the past leave guitar cases and drum cases littered around the stage and leads end up becoming like a plate of spaghetti. I worked the clubs as a singer for years and it used to annoy me when the club would leave stacks of chairs and tables on the stage and also the dreaded shimmer curtain were always half hanging off so I suppose this is where I am getting it from. Do you think this is an issue or am I being over the top? BTW I am not writing in continuous lines for a reason, my post wont let me start a new line or paragraph for some reason!!

In my band, we've kind of accepted that we're not going to be 'big' (nice if it happens and all, but...). That said, we still take a professional attitude to gigging - Be practiced, turn up on time, don't mess around in sound checks, wear decent clothing and yes, keep the stage tidy!

There could be a point of view that it doesn't 'matter', but then again, it doesn't take that much more effort to make the stage (or floor, or corner or whatever) presentable. It's just part of the overall entertainment that you're providing the audience!

Gaffer tape. You`ll never eliminate all the cables unless you go wireless - which when you all are it`s amazing how much better the stage looks, plus you can move around, or just not have to keep your eyes on the clumsy band-member who regularly trips over and flattens amps. So at least tape leads down.