Why become a member? ×

I shouldn't be surprised (because I'm a bassist), but...

Muzz

OK, so I take the 12-string bass down to rehearsals for the first time this week - I'd been running through a couple of songs in the set which have had a big production job done on them on the album, but which were sounding a little 'thin' (for want of a better word) live, and the 12 seemed a good idea.

There was some nominal interest when I got it out of the case (they hadn't seen the bass before), and it's a bit of a standing gag that I do rotate gear quite often, but then after we'd run through the set a couple of times with me using the 12 on three songs, I said:

"Sooo, the 12 on those songs - any comments? Anybody like it? Hate it?"

To a man they looked bemused, and mumbled along the lines of, "err, yeah, it was OK", "Fine, I guess", and then the singer put the hat on it with the classic line:

"Look, it's just a bass, mate."

I could understand if it was just a different 4-string, different pickups, etc (which I'm used to them not noticing - I just get on with it to please myself), but a 12-string? It sounded huuuge. Is being a bassist like being a dog? Do we hear frequencies no-one else does? :)

I'm taking a fricking euphonium next week. Maybe they'll spot that. :)

Edited by Muzz

I never been unlucky enough to be in a band like that - perhaps because I'm normally responsible for the majority of the music. However in that situation, so long as none of the other band members say anything negative about the sound I'd use the basses that you think are most appropriate and keep yourself happy.

[quote name='Muzz' timestamp='1320237837' post='1424083']

I'm taking a fricking euphonium next week. Maybe they'll spot that. :)
[/quote]
Class! :)