Why become a member? ×

Left handers playing right

risingson

Just purely out of interest really. When I started playing bass my Dad asked the left handed guitar player in his band what bass he should buy me. He was advised to go with the right handed option, and I couldn't be more grateful in hindsight. Do any left paws mind having to play a left handed bass/or vice versa?

I'm left handed in general but naturally play bass right handed. The way I see it, the fretting hand has to be the most precise so that should be my left! But I'm semi-ambidextrous since I use my right hand for certain tasks and left for others.

its a funny one. when i first picked up a bass, i automatically flipped it over so went wit a lefty. impossible to say what difference it makes i guess. i do however get very annoyed by the limited availability of certain instruments, oh well makes it all the sweeter when you do find one i guess :)

What you harping on about, Jimi Hendrix always played a right handed guitar and he was a lefty :)
Even right handed people do thing different to each other skating and surfing for example can be done goofy or regular (I can never remember which way is which) after that to be good you learn both ways which just isn't needed or practical with instruments. Same with lots of racket sports to be good you need to do both ways.

The upside down and back to front folk get me the most (Doves bass player I think?) I presume they are self taught lefties that have grabbed a parents guitar that is strung for a right hooker. The only combination I have never seen which is just as possible I presume as the upside downers would be a right handed person playing a left hand drive bass or guitar, Does anyone know of any or are you one?

A righty here, but you only have to look at guys like Nadal, who is a righty playing lefty tennis to realise this kinda thing is relatively commonplace (can you imagine if Wooten was a natural lefty!).