Why become a member? ×

A certain bass guitar whom we shall not name...

Jigster

I had a new 4003. Hated it and traded it on. I later tried a mate's 1976 4001. Very difficult to quantify the difference but it's lovely. Seems to sit better on me although I can't work out why, and lovely slim neck. I've taken the pickup cover off and fitted one of those rubber thingies that fills the hole and gives u a thumb rest. Love it!

I recall a lot of comments about the neck. I'm no expert - for me a Ric is a Ric, and the numbers don't mean as much as they might to an afficionado; however, there seemed to be some differences in the ones I've picked up - some slim, some fat.

We all have our preferences. For some, they perhaps don't have the right neck; others will be left wondering where the thumb goes; some will find they don't sit well in the mix of their current bands - horses for courses, and all power to some variety :)

That said, for me, I had no issues. They seemed like perfectly playable basses, and I'd be owning one now if not for John Hall.

I have lusted over many a Ric, tried almost everyone I have seen in the shops, borrowed one and gigged it with a view to buying it as it was a good year and colour combination and at a bargain price, I had the cash to spare yet still gave it back!

My biased findings so far....
1- Neck dive.
2- Nastycheap feel to the machine head tuners operation.
3- Fingerboard not following the main neck along its length properly as if it has shunk or something.
4- Body edges that you can shave with.
5- Poorly finished bindings compared to a Gibson Les Paul.
6- Pickup cover in the way, its right where I want to play especially with a pick (same goes for a Jazz with its covers on).
7- Remove cover and you are left with a crude metal finger grater.
8- Big clumsy bridge often swapped for something more accuratley adjustable.