Why become a member? ×

Is technique that important?

BassBus

As the title suggests. I appreciate that there are certain areas of playing where a good technique will be required such as orchestral playing and probably general session work. However, I find I have no shortage of people who enjoy having me play with their bands. Even recently, after a two year layoff from regular playing due to academic commitments, I was asked to play by a guy who is a professional player. That was after a depping gig in which I made loads of mistakes.

Now, I’m the first to admit I do not have a high degree of technique on either electric or double bass. I am also only an amateur and don’t intend to be anything else as that gives the fun I want in music. There must be something else that attracts people to my playing.

I also work as a counsellor and it is widely regarded in that profession that the relationship is the most important requirement for success with a client. Counsellors who have a high degree of knowledge and technique, but no ability at building the relationship, are far less likely to be useful to the client than those who have a lower level of knowledge and technique but a great ability at building the relationship.

Therefore, does the same not work in music if we just wish to remain as amateurs? We are building relationships not just with the band in which we play but also the audiences we play to. Is it not more important to "play for the music"”(groan, cliché) than to have all the technique under the sun. Discuss.

Edited by BassBus

As with most things, it depends on what your goals are. For the bands I play with (link in sig) technique is important because I need to play pretty fast and reasonably intricate lines quite a lot to be appropriate.