Why become a member? ×

Beginner short neck or standard?

Shiggs

Hi, I am relatively new to the bass and I am struggling with hand stretch on the top end of the board. I have read that a short neck, 30" as opposed to the standard 34" will really benifit me as a beginner. 

What are peoples thoughts?

Thanks.

Welcome.

It might just be a case of the fact that you're just not used to playing bass, and you just need to "stick with it". 

You don't mention whether you play any other instrument, so I don't know if you're just not used to playing anything, or whether you've played something else that is a bit smaller than a bass.

Certainly, if you're not used to playing, doing some finger stretches before you play may help, and then play in short bursts, say 15 mins, have a rest for a bit, then do another 15 mins.

My opinion, is start with a 4 string, 34 scale and persevere. Always the best way forward when starting out, and you can always look at options down the line when you're more comfortable.

It can be a bit uncomfortable to begin with, but honestly I would start with a standard size and scale bass.

• Like 1

When you start learning bass (or guitar for that matter which have much shorter necks) there's an initial period where you fingers struggle to stretch the distances you need them to do to play easily without constantly moving your left hand around.

Keep going long enough and eventually the 'stretch' of your fretting hand will increase.

Having said that,  every popular format of bass seems to have a shortscale versions these days. Fender are a notable exception but given the explosion in popularity of shortscale basses and the fact that companies like Sire are already making shortscale versions of Fender models I doubt it will be long before they get in on the act.

Which is a  long winded way of saying there's no real reason not to go shortscale if you try it and find it works better for you.

Edited by Cato
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, Shiggs said: