Why become a member? ×

Stainless Steels - is it just me?

Funky Dunky

It's just me, isn't it?

When I started playing bass, I found that Stainless Steels were too zingy and created too much unwanted handling noise. So I switched to Nickels. Softer. Quieter. Less zing. All good.

But then.......I grew dissatisfied with the Nickels. They appeared not to EQ well. They weren't great for slap. So I went back to SS......and a brand new pack arrived today, I put them on my bass and they looked and felt cruddy. Sticky (not as in gluey, just...not slick).

Now, this is the second set in a month to do this. First was a set of Fat Beams. Today it's Dunlops. Same apparent issue with both?

Is it just because I'm used to Nickels, which are smoother and shinier out of the pack? Are Stainless Steels typically a completely different feel? They feel so lifeless by comparison.

They are, aren't they? It's just me, isn't it?

Edited by Funky Dunky

I hear you!

I'm the same. I only used stainless steel roundwound strings up until about a year or so ago, and randomly bought some nickels as I needed some strings and couldn't find my usuals. Initially I wasn't so sure, but I got really used to them and found them less sticky/coarse to touch, less noisy and generally warmer and, well, better sounding.

I only use nickel roundwounds now, and I prefer them to stainless steels. Tho I did use a nearly new set of steels for a mate's spare bass I've been setting up, and in fairness they do sound and play well - especially now the new stickiness has worn off them.

I think some steels are rougher than others, but generally nickels do feel softer.

Edited by bassbiscuits

I definitely think that steels can be 'grippier' (is that a word?).

As in they feel a bit rougher, are more resistant to slides and generate more noise from your fretting hand.

But they do have more of the bright zingy sound characteristics I love for a clean & punchy tone.

Edited by Cato