Why become a member? ×

Do all professional musicians have their songs written as sheet music?

mentalextra

I'd imagine that Elton John has all his music "in dots" but does everyone? If The who invite me to play bass for them would I be expected to learn their songs by ear or would I get a wad of sheet music. When Pino gets the invite to lay down some bass tracks for John Mayers new album who if anyone has the responsibility to convert it to dots. If topflight musicians dont record songs on sheet music what happens when you forget something you played 30yrs ago?

Edited by mentalextra

Actually it's vary rare to get the dots these days I believe. (I'm not a studio musician.) The only times you do are for shows (Lloyd Webber etc), gigs with strings or orchestras, and for top-level studio recordings (say for Barbara Streisand, etc.). For Elton, I don't know but his music director the guitarist Davey Johnstone probably expects you to arrive pretty much with the set under your fingers with rehearsals for honing the arrangements and breaks. And his current bass player is Matt Bissonette who's no slouch.

For Pino I'd imagine you pay him for his groove, tone and approach. I don't even know if he can read music - I don't think he can but other BC'ers will advise.

I once read Stu Hamm's hilarious account of auditioning for Allan Holdsworth - Stu was asked to prepare from a CD which had drummer Chad Wackerman on it but on the day of the rehearsal, AH's other drummer Gary Husband was in town so they ended up blasting through the material he recorded and Stu Hamm was lost. AH wrote the chords out and poor Stu had to hack through by counting the changes: Cb+6/9, 2, 3, 4.. etc. He didn't get the gig.

Edited by visog

[quote name='lojo' timestamp='1426623365' post='2720053']
The basschat Paradox

Having a reading skill means your a better musician

If you use that skill to perform live , your using a music stand so lose the better musician rating
[/quote]