Why become a member? ×

My F bass seriously damaged...Neck broken!

geoffbassist

:) As i was driving home today my boot came open, the bass fell out the car on the motorway and was runover many times in its case (overwater soft case). I had been driving for over an hour so it was a bit of a shock! luckly no one was hurt, except the bass....
Its a real nightmare, im a freelance bassist and this is my only instrument! I think i know someone who can lend me a bass to help over the christmas period but its a real blow, i really loved that bass, best ive ever owned.
I think an email to fbass to find out how much a new neck would be is the best way forward as the rest of the bass is ok....
It was really dangerous though and im lucky i didnt cause an accident... Edited by geoffbassist

[quote name='geoffbassist' post='349259' date='Dec 9 2008, 01:34 AM']:huh: As i was driving home today my boot came open, the bass fell out the car on the motorway and was runover many times in its case (overwater soft case). I had been driving for over an hour so it was a bit of a shock! luckly no one was hurt, except the bass....
Its a real nightmare, im a freelance bassist and this is my only instrument! I think i know someone who can lend me a bass to help over the christmas period but its a real blow, i really loved that bass, best ive ever owned.
I think an email to fbass to find out how much a new neck would be is the best way forward as the rest of the bass is ok....
It was really dangerous though and im lucky i didnt cause an accident...[/quote]
Ouch. :) That is not good.

Get that bass up to Jon Shuker (he's in Sheffield) or any other decent nearby luthier. Looks like a fairly clean break, so it should be fixable without too many issues, and it's probably cheaper than a new neck. But drop George Furlanetto a line - maybe if you send him the neck, he can sort it out for you. I gather he's a nice guy and very accommodating.