Why become a member? ×

Ebay newbie advice needed

CamdenRob

Hi Guys,

I'm after some advice from the ebay initiated...

I've just listed some guitar cabs for the first time, I've never used ebay before.

I followed what seemed like the right thing to do, set a reserve price, set collection only etc... The advert looks ok but are there any pitfalls I should be watching out for? It's not set to automatically accept low bids or anything silly like that?

What happens if the reserve is not met? Presumably the advert just disappears?

Any advice appreciated :)

Edited by CamdenRob

Collection/Delivery - Have you got this nailed down tight?

If it is an auction and not a BIN then people can make silly low bids and they will be accepted automatically, likely no decent bids to the last minute (assuming you started the opening bid low).

Reserve - If it isn't met, it can be relisted after any tweaks you might want to make.

Heard of some cases where the buyer pays by paypal but collects in person. The buyer then says they have paid but haven't received the item. There's no way you can prove that they havent either so, paypal will refund their money. Add cash on collection only to the listing!

You might get some questions such, as how much is the reserve? You might also get some chancers asking how much to end it early.
If you've set a reserve then stick to it. Also make sure you've set your shipping terms IE no shipping overseas. You can also restrict bids to people with no feed back or negative feedback. Worth looking at these if you weren't aware?

Thanks chaps :)

I have not set a reserve, but I have set a minimum starting bid so I presume that protects me from it automatically accepting low bids?

The ad says collection only in the shipping bit so it looks like I've got that bit right.

I have set it up to accept paypal, but reading the above this may be an error if it's super easy for me to get swindled? Should I change the ad to cash on collection only?