Why become a member? ×

The Importance of Artwork & Logos

Can't find much on this subject, so I thought it might be interesting to get opinions from BCers on the value (both financially and importance) placed on the Logo and Artwork designs for your bands.

I'm a full time designer. I think branding is hugely important as a general point whatever the product is; however I see a lot of bands with "DIY" artworks and logos that don't do them justice.

I should add; I am being asked more and more to do logo design for unsigned bands I know. I wondered what you guys feel is reasonable to charge a band.

Edited by stingraybassman

I think the brand as a whole for bands is important but I've never really been won over by a band because they have a nice logo but I'll accept that it can be a good thing to have one.

Album artwork is quite important, or it at least needs to not be bad.

i think artwork/logos are of paramount importance, as they say 1st impressions can make a big difference, especially in certain genres.
im into my rock and metal, sometimes i see an awesome album cover and just have to hear the band, it can be disapointing if the music doesnt live up to the artwork though.
i miss the days of double gatefold vinyl, not because of the vinyl i prefere cds, but the artwork has more impact and seems more tactile

on pricing I recently had some artwork done and im a picky sod. I had a digital painting done for my bands debut album, i paid 300eu for a piece that will cover 3 panels on a fold out digipack, im very happy with the piece and think that for the right designer/artist this was great value.
on the other hand several people i know wouldn't dream of spending that much and were surprised when i told them how much i paid, however they all agreed it was money well spent when i showed them the piece.