Why become a member? ×

Strings??

Linus27

Just interested in what make of string people are using including guage. I just fitted a set of Elite Stadiums 45 - 105's to my new Stingray and it sounds stunning. I have been using these strings for about 20 years but I hardly ever see them mentioned here. Do people not rate them?

D'Addario EXL 165 Nickel Round Wound 45-105 long scale. The only strings I'm ever really happy with :)

(Have to confess I've never tried Elite Stadiums - I tried all kinds of others, Rotosound, Ernie Ball, Elixir, Fender (not nice, surprisingly)... but not those)

Used to use Elites Player series strings but now sold on Elixirs - current set over a year old and sound new when compared to a brand new set of Elites ( a little test I did a month or so ago to make sure I wasn't deceiving myself!)

ped

[quote name='Linus27' post='369645' date='Jan 3 2009, 11:00 PM']Just interested in what make of string people are using including guage. I just fitted a set of Elite Stadiums 45 - 105's to my new Stingray and it sounds stunning. I have been using these strings for about 20 years but I hardly ever see them mentioned here. Do people not rate them?[/quote]

I use same as yourself; Elites 'Stadiums' 45-105's on an Ibanez Blazer & same gauge nickel 'Players' on an old Ricky copy. I think they're good; last well & have a nice tension. Also been using them happily for about twenty years, though I do like other brands/types of string too.

OOOHHH!!! where do you get those (Ebs titanium nickels)from and how much are they? ive always fancied trying them - lee
Oh and for me D,addario xl nickels or DR sunbeams depending on how flush i am, 105 - 45 for 4 string and 125 - 45 for 5 strings.

EBS titanium nickel strings. Can't get enough of them :)
[/quote]

Edited by lee650

I've got Status Hotwires HalfRounds on my VMJ, they're coming off though as I'm having a rounds phase, think I might go for steels over nickels on it though, pups are quite dark