Why become a member? ×

Fat rock bass sounding guitar?

bassickman

I have a fender jazz however it isn't hasnt got the thick tone that I need. I am playing in a band similar to maroon 5, Later chili peppers stuff. Well produced Alt/funk/rock kind of sound.

Musicman stingray and lakland both came to mind?

Thanks,

bassickman

This jazz of which you speak... is it set up properly? Particularly the pickup heights? Is it sounding too thin? Too clean? Too scooped (i.e. lacking in midrange).... What kind of strings are you using (brand, gauge, etc)? Have you thought about replacing the pickups with something more aggressive?

It would be easier to give advice if you were a bit more specific about the problem! :)

Edited by Conan

Ok, I love the tone. However, I play some big gigs with an alt rock, pop rock band. Similar to maroon 5. I find the Jazz bass tone perfect but the depth of the sound sometimes isnt deep enough. I use ernie ball slinky bass strings. I am a newbie to gear really and this is why i come to yourselves for advice.

Tis funny but both the bands you've mentioned have players that currently use Jazz or 'jazz style' basses. Hmm...

If you don't think you can EQ in the sound that you want from your amp then a Jazz bass ain't the bass you're after for big beefy low end (Jazz bass low end is present and manageable, but a tad restrained). You're probably best looking at something with a P pickup in it. Nothing fills space like a Precision.

Stingrays don't fill low end IMO. They're punchy and have loads of presence, but I always found that the location of the humbucker in a Stingray doesn't give you a proper low-end fundamental. I'm sure plenty of people will disagree, and I love Stingrays... but I don't think they do the job you're describing.