Why become a member? ×

Auditioning for Pit Band - Rent!

faceman

So my college is doing a production of Rent this summer and I've signed up to audition for the bass chair. I've never done this sort of thing before but it's my last chance before graduating to do a musical band and after listening to the soundtrack, it sounds pretty good! Some fun 80s/90s styled pop numbers, with some nice bass parts too. The more I think, the more I want to do it.

However, the audition states that musicians need to be of grade 6 level and sight read well. I'm not sure if I'm up to those standards as I've never had to do either. I'm wondering if I should take up a few lessons before then to prep me in sight reading bass lines? I can always work out the lines after sitting down and following what each note is and such and then using the music to follow the progress of the song. None of the bass sounds too hard and I'm sure I can do it all, I'm just not sure about how capable I will be in the audition if I'm just given the music and told to play.

I was thinking of buying the sheet music in advance, learning it and hoping the arranged versions are similar Thanks :)

Don't know if lessons will get you sight reading in time, but if you're confident you will be able to play the parts from what you have heard, then sure, give it a go, a local teacher should be able to put you through your paces, and, if you do conquer the sight reading it is such a valuable tool when it comes to earning money from playing bass. Good luck - wish I'd done it!

Sight reading is a case of playing lots of different music that you probably wouldn't choose to play.
A good exercise you could try is, get a large music book let it fall open at any page look at the vital statistics ie. time sig, key & tempo then play it. Don't stop if you make a mistake, the more you do this the less mistakes you should make, well hopefully.
I think it is really a self teach type of thing and is down to self practice.