Why become a member? ×

Markbass amps / combo's / other options

John Wheatley

Hello there,

New to this so if I ramble forgive me.

I'm a fairly clueless bassist playing in a covers band of the get up and dance variety. Pubs, private parties, weddings etc..

Played bass for two years and main bass is a Mexican Fender Precission Special which is a hybrid Precission / Jazz, with both P & J Pick ups (I think thats right). Currently play through a Fender BXR 300c combo, although Ive chopped the cabinet so the head can detach and be refixed with holding clamps (its a very heavy combo). This would howver I presume give me the option to use the 15" cab seperately. I mainly play with a pick being a failed guitarist, although I'm trying to play with fingers on the gentler stuff.

I think the guitar is OK but the combo seems boomy or tinny with not much in between, so I'm thinking of replacing it and want to spend up to £1000. The wife would be happier with a lot less. After looking at forums I'm quite taken with the Markbass CMD 102P combo, with the option to use the 15" cab as a supplementary if needed although I think thats unlikely. The reported clean sound and weight attract me.

Any thoughts or other suggestions would be gratefully received.

Cheers

John

[quote name='Musicman20' post='559695' date='Aug 3 2009, 09:47 PM']I really like Markbass amps. I have the LM3....it works wonders. Clean, powerful, lots of low end. I do not use Markbass cabs though....I cannot comment on their speakers.

I think someone has that combo on sale on here?![/quote]

Cheers for that.

I have read that the amps are better than the cabs. The combo I was looking at as I understand it has the same amp as the LMII, so I'm also considering that and a seperate cab.

Can I ask what cabs / cabs you do use?

Cheers

John

[quote name='John Wheatley' post='559701' date='Aug 3 2009, 09:56 PM']Cheers for that.