Why become a member? ×

Is it still true that a 10-inch speaker will generally sound better than an 8-inch speaker?

Jadegames

I want to leave my older 10-inch 25W practice amp at my drummers place to make getting to his place to practice easier. This means I get to buy a new amp to practice at home but also take to do some jazz gigging.

I've been playing EB for decades, but I'm fairly new to UB and am looking to play jazz primarily on my UB. I don't need my new amp to compete power-wise with screaming rock guitar anything, but I want it to be pretty reasonably portable. UB are stupidly heavy!

I've been looking at either:

1. Ashdown Studio 10, Tweed - £189 - 60W, 10-inch speaker - 8.5 kg - From Gear4Music
  2. Markbass Micromark 801    - £322 - 45W, 8-inch speaker -  5.2 kg - From thomann

I remember hearing YEARS ago that a 8-inch speaker just can't sound as good as a 10-inch speaker, but I'm not sure if that still holds true today. Plus everytime I've heard someone play with a Markbass it's been loud and clear enough so wanted to check.

Has anyone played with the above amps? Are they loud enough to play UB with a drummer, jazz guitar and some horn players in a jam session? Purely for the sake of portability, I am leaning towards the Micromark. UB are heavy and awkward enough to carry so the lighter/quicker/easier I can make things, the better all round, but just wanted to check.

Is there a better alternative out there. Budget is about £350-£400. I've ruled out the Rumble 40 as it's just too heavy to take to gigs and I know I'll end up regretting carrying it everywhere. I don't want anything really heavier than 9 kg.

Or maybe I should just get any old 25W bass amp because every jazz venue in Manchester has a PA system so it doesn't matter?