Why become a member? ×

Decent online or otherwise slap bass courses?

Max Normal

A little advice from anyone in the know would be appreciated.

I'm by no means a beginner, I have been performing fingerstyle for decades and I'm pretty proficient at most types of bassline.

I can play a bit of slap too, slaps, snaps, left-hand slaps etc.  But I never got really good at it, I'd probably rate myself at intermediate. I have the basics down and I can make basslines that work. So I'm looking for an online course that runs in steps all the way from intermediate to advanced without just getting dribs and drabs from Youtube etc so that I can really progress.

I have had a look at Scotts Bass Lessons and The Bass Wizard slap course but not signed up yet as they are both expensive and I want to know which would be the best.

Any experiences of these (with regards to slap only), or any other suggestions?

Cheers!

This guy is one of the best tutors on youtube.

He starts with the basics but he also does some more advanced lessons.

Also Scott Whitely.

Don't let the 'Bassics' title fool you, the lessons quickly progress in to more advanced territory.

He also does a series on 'advanced' techniques.

Edited by Cato
  • Like 1

Big thumbs up (no pun intended) for Scott Whitley's course of videos. Starts with absolute basics and takes you through to pops & snaps and hammer-ons/ pull offs. Very comprehensive.

As EBS Freak advises, Stu Clayton's book is good but TBH I only looked at it a few times as it covers similar ground to Scott's videos.

Both Scott and Stu are members here.

Edited by TheGreek

2 hours ago, EBS_freak said:

Stu Clayton's book is a good starting point. 

This.

Last year I was in a similar position as the OP, I could slap a little but not really great at it. I'm about 1/3 of the way through Clayton's book and am so much better than I was this time last year.

13 hours ago, Max Normal said:

A little advice from anyone in the know would be appreciated.