Why become a member? ×

Why, Why, Why can't I find a drummer!?

Lord Sausage

I'm trying to get a wedding/function band up and running. I know some great drummers however, this means they all have loads of work. Everyone we audition is always nowhere near as good as they say they are, loads of crap. It's doing my nut in. This is the hardest time i've ever had trying to get a band of the ground.

That is all, as you were!

Seriously though, it is a problem. Good drummers don't answer ads for drummers, IME. Good luck with the search - it is a hard road, but it IS possible. Presumably you want to form a wedding/function band to make a bit of cash, so this would likely attract a decent hitter if you can tempt them in with the promise of loot. And free beer. And cake.

Edited by discreet

I"m a drummer first (boo!) and a bassist second. I'm a pretty experienced drummer (hiss!) and a terrible bass player - I've done lots of function bands etc, and had the pleasure of auditioning countless times for innumerable projects that never made it past the rehearsal room. A lot older and a bit wiser, I think a lot of time it comes down to mismatched expectations.

For example, I find a lot of bands auditioning for drummers are looking to replace someone, and so when you turn up you're immediately at a disadvantage because you don't play like their previous guy. A classic is "Bob/Jim/Dave didn't play it like that, he played it different. Why can't you do that?" without ever explaining what Bob/Jim/Dave played!