Why become a member? ×

Never tried finger style...!!!

I have an embarrassing confession...

Probably due to me playing 6 string for 20 years, when I took up bass around 5 years ago I carried on using a pick. There are occassions when I need to be more flexible in which case I use a thumb and forefinger to pluck the strings at a faster rate or to produce a softer sound. All my muting is done with my fretting hand. Obviously, I see the traditional fingers style used predominantly when I'm watching other bands and bass players and would really like to know what it is I'm missing out on. I have tried a few simple tunes using finger style but it doesn't seem to suit....

What am I missing and should I make an effort to learn to play proper...? :)

There is a lot of snobbery about finger-style but frankly you should use whatever works IMHO - Jaco, Jamerson and Flea all play(ed) fingerstyle but noone ever accused McCartney or Chris Squire of not being 'proper' bass players. Top jazzer Steve Swallow was considered sacrilegious when he switched to pick.

Mind you I might be saying all this because I'm rubbish at finger-style :)

Thanks for the reassurance Clarky... I just thought maybe I was a bit rubbish...

I suppose there are quite a few "non-finger" legends out there but I wondered if it may be a useful skill to learn... Not that I need to make life any more difficult for myself... :)

BTW... let that guy know you wanted his PU guard... hopefully he'll stop by the forum and get in touch...

I've always had "itchy fingers" drumming on tables, fidgeting with stuff, so fingerstyle was always going to be my thing. This despite trying to learn from Yes' [i]90125[/i] album knowing that Chris plays with a pick exclusively.