Why become a member? ×

Why do we gig?

Clarebear68

Apologies as this is quite a big post.

The band I'm in, gigged Friday and Saturday this weekend (I've never done that before and is probably a topic on it's own bearing in mind the difference in performance over two nights); however, I digress from my point...
The first gig on the Friday was in Manchester at a little bar and while we were aware we wouldn't be paid, we were under the impression that we were at least getting free drinks and so we agrred to play kind of like a 'loss leader' to try and pick up some extra fans for our next paid gig. We sound-checked early, popped out for food etc came back in time for the gig and tried to get some drinks, only to be told we'd have to pay, as the manager hadn't authorised any free drinks for the band and wouldn't be in the bar until much later! Now we'd invited a lot of people, who had invited friends etc, so to cancelling was out of the question by that point, not to mention the bad impression it would cause. So we did the gig. Just from the people we invited, I reckon they must have taken at least £500+ over the bar.

The singer/guitarist had got us the gig on Saturday night with the agreement that we would be paid out of the money taken on the door. Again, we invited a lot of people. We did the gig and the crowd seemed to really enjoy themselves. I had to leave before the rest of the guys after the gig but I got a text when I got home saying that we didn't get paid! Apparently, they only charge on the door after 9pm and the majority of the crowd arrived before then! Again they easily took £500+ from the people we invited. And if we hadn't invited people, I think the only people in the place would have been the owner, the doorman and the Bar staff!

Last night I was fuming about it - over two gigs, I'd spent about £100 on new string, drinks for me and friends etc.