Why become a member? ×

Amp/combo help

Hey peeps. 

I started bass with a small stagg combo amp then decided to pickup a Melvin Lee Davis peas Al so I can carry long with me and practice at home and away. I’ve found I just don’t get on with headphones compared to actual real speakers. The MLD pedal has IR’s which are great but I always go back to a physical speaker. 

Im based in central London and now PMT near old street is gone I have very few places (guitar guitar and Yamaha ) to try amps/combos. I doubt the amp will leave the house.

what advise could you give on getting a physical amp/combo?

most of the low priced combos have 8” speakers. I don’t want Meh sound. 

Price limit is around 400. I’m happy to go used or new.  

Any ideas or help? I have little experience in this area. Coupled with limited places to try with my bass. 

cheers 

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Lozz196 said:

The Fender Rumble combos are very good and def worth checking out, though an idea of the type of music you play will help in recommendations.

Shame i didn't say.  I like to play funk, soul, a little jazz and Motown. Not really a rock kind of guy.

Guitarguitar have the ampeg and fender rumble in store. Heard good things about the laney digbeth, gk, mark bass.... some many dam options i cant try lmao

another question is how does monitoring speaking hooked up to computer and using software like logic etc compare.?

You can tell i have not experience lol

Edited by soulstar89

1 hour ago, Mykesbass said:

Jump on a train to Guildford (just over half hour from Waterloo). Anderson's have lots of small combos being shown as in stock. 

I totally forgot about Anderson’s. That would make all the sense. 

Thanks for this. 

• Like 1

Don’t let driver size put you off. Have a look at PJB combos & also the smaller Markbass combos. 
Though for in the house, I use my preamp into my studio monitors & for gigs it’s my preamp into a PA cab. 

• Like 1