Why become a member? ×

when does a flat become a sharp

timmo

I am currently trying to learn bass patterns via the Register of Guitar Tutors, I have a pattern they call reggae style. It starts at G minor, to A flat, back to G, then A flat to D. My question is, why is the A, a flat, and not a sharp ? I hope that makes sense

[quote name='timmo' timestamp='1383758115' post='2268691']
I am currently trying to learn bass patterns via the Register of Guitar Tutors, I have a pattern they call reggae style. It starts at G minor, to A flat, back to G, then A flat to D. My question is, why is the A, a flat, and not a sharp ? I hope that makes sense
[/quote]

So as to not have 2 notes of the scale with the same name, ie: G and G#.

Subject to correction, completion and/or contradiction from others; I'm just a drummer. :mellow:

Edited by Dad3353

I think it's to do with the key signature.

If you look at E major for instance, it's got 4 sharps, C, D, F and G. So if you harmonised that scale you wouldn't call the 3 chord A flat, it's going to be G sharp.

Bb has 2 flats, B and E. Harmonising that you wouldn't call the 4 chord D sharp, it's going to be E flat.

Every key has one each of A B C D E F G with sharps and flats added as appropriate.

For example, C major has C D E F G A B with no flats or sharps.

E major has E F# G# A B C# D# E - and thats the way to write it - there needs to be an A natural so there can't also be an Ab, and there needs to be a G but it is in fact a G#.

Edited by EssentialTension

[quote name='EssentialTension' timestamp='1383773558' post='2269053']
Every key has one each of A B C D E F G with sharps and flats added as appropriate.

For example, C major has C D E F G A B with no flats or sharps.

E major has E F# G# A B C# D# E - and thats the way to write it - there needs to be an A natural so there can't also be an Ab, and there needs to be a G but it is in fact a G#.
[/quote]