Why become a member? ×

Playing Sober

awdl22125

Ok, so I’m quite new to Bass (about eighteen months now) and have been part of a gigging band for about twelve months. I must admit that for the first half dozen gigs I could not get on stage without a fair few drinks inside me, mainly not due to the Bass parts but the vocals I add to a couple of songs. Recently however due to circumstances (gigs being a bit farther afield requiring me to drive) I have played the last two gigs completely sober, and I must say what a revelation, I can hear the mix better, my timing is spot on and I have been able to perform the vocals with much more power and clarity. On the whole I would like to recommend playing sober as a much more pleasurable experience.

Definately an advantage to be sober when gigging.

I just drink tap water on gigs.

Good job too - in the winter before last when I was gigging twice weekly, round christmas/new year, I kid you not, I was stopped and breathalized 3 times!!!!!

Must be some kind of a record.

On the second occassion, trying to be green, I offerred the cops the plastic bit they give you after you have been breathalized, hoping they could re-use it and avoid using a new one - they were not amused.

On the third occassion, I tried to sell them some of my band's cds - they were not amused.

[quote name='awdl22125' post='1249109' date='May 29 2011, 01:10 PM']...
I can hear the mix better,
...[/quote]

One of the first senses to be dulled by alcohol is your hearing.

A band I used to play in: Whenever the drummer and vocalist used to get a lift to the gigs they would complain that they couldn't hear properly. They couldn't understand why some gigs we had (according to them) a really good mix and at others it was terrible. The soundcheck would be great then they would go to the bar until we were due to play. The rest of the band (5 out of a band of 7) never had a problem with the on-stage mix.