Why become a member? ×

In a Reggae outfit!

bubinga5

Hey people, i have recently joined a reggae outfit, and im really enjoying it! Doing covers such as Toots, Burning Spear, Marley, UB40, and various riddims..
Like with many genre's, it has sub genres, but its interesting to see the riddims passed along from the originator, to other artists, and to hear there lyrical take on it.
Riddims like Ali baba, Slengteng, Declaration of Rights, Police in Helicopter, Forever lovin Jah riddims..Also great songs like UB40's Food for thought, and my favorite Marley's waiting in vain..

These riddims/bass lines have to be kept to the original, and i like to improvise , so i have to erm....reel in my ego and stick with the groove (and i mean note for note)
I also feel that it has a very close relation to funk, in as much as the groove and feel/touch is everything, wether it be on the one, or off the beat..

Any one had experience playing reggae??

no, im pretty new to reggae as of some time early last year, but im already in love with it, i even was daft enough to get 54-46 tattoo'd on my arm

Im not playing in a band at the minute, i jam with friends, but ive started to notice how listening to so much reggae is affecting my own lines and improv jams, ive started to simple lines down the lines and give a lot more feel into each note. Im not saying im a reggae bass master all of a sudden, but i would love to try myself out in a reggae cover band

hmmm maybe im going to have to post an ad in the local music shop...

would love to hear some of your covers btw

[quote name='bubinga5' post='408163' date='Feb 13 2009, 12:03 AM']Hey people, i have recently joined a reggae outfit, and im really enjoying it! Doing covers such as Toots, Burning Spear, Marley, UB40, and various riddims..
Like with many genre's, it has sub genres, but its interesting to see the riddims passed along from the originator, to other artists, and to hear there lyrical take on it.