Why become a member? ×

Being in more than one band...any advice?

stefBclef

Evening all,

I have only started playing in bands recently, and I am enjoying it a lot.

5 months ago I started playing with a band and, although I have a great time at practise every week, and we are starting to get gigs, I felt that there were a few things not quite right about the band and I decided to keep my ears open for other oppurtunitys so as not to be blinkered in my approach.

Now I have found myself another band. I like the new band and I still plan on keeping the old band to see where that goes.

As I was walking home last night I started thinking about possible clashes, i.e. practise clashes, or practise/gig clashes, or (the unlikely but extremely possible and ugly scenario of) gigs clashing.

To me, it is similar to, say, if I play in a band, and also sing in a choir, or play in a band and also compete and train in the art of tiddlywinks. However, I feel that this is probably quite a touchy area for some people and I thought I would see what experiences / opinions people have on this subject.

Is it a perfectly natural and indeed positive part or being a musician to look around and seek new oppurtunities?

Or is it a faux pas similar to creeping around in late night bars instead of snuggling up to your other half at home?

Does it work out well for you? OR has it been a recipe for disaster?

Thank you fellow basschatters

Stef

Works for a lot of people. I've tried it and it didnt work for me, soon got bored with the one doing the least gigs and it got to be a chore. But try it, its all experience.

I wouldnt do it on the quiet though, tell em both .,Theres too much room for misunderstandings if somebody found out some other way.

I play in two bands but everyone knows each other and we're all mates. I got involved with the second one after dep'ing for a gig after their bassist left. Things gelled pretty well and I'm still there.