Why become a member? ×

Hello from a newbie in Wales

SpaceChick

Hi,

I'm Debs, and I have taken the plunge in getting myself a new beginner bass and amp.

I have played the guitar when I was younger, but have always wanted to play the bass.

So far I am finding the larger frets a "challenge" and am struggling with my dampening... but hey ho, I'll get there :P

Have seen a number of online courses, some free, some paid for. Any recommendations would be great. :D

I'm just looking at being able to play at home, my hubby is a hobby guitarist, so would be nice to play together :P

Hi Debs,

Welcome to BC!
I'm sure you'll like this friendly site.

Can't really help you with recommendations on online courses, as I'm a total noob myself (one without any substantial guitar experience at that), but I just went the cheap way, and bought some books off Amazon that came highly recommended in the Amazon reviews. Satisfied with that. YMMV and all that, of course.

Enjoy!
bert

Hi Debs and welcome.

I'm Deb, also from South Wales, just got my first bass/amp :D .

I've been going through lessons on this site [url="http://scottsbasslessons.com/"]http://scottsbasslessons.com/[/url] thanks to a recommendation via this forum.

It's very nice to have a local forum neighbour!

Deb

thanks for the welcome, and thanks for the link Deb :D

After speaking to a work colleague, I have taken the plunge and have booked a lesson with a local teacher that ONLY teaches bass. He said he's been teaching for 30 years and has never had a grown woman asking for lessons!!

I will probably only have a few lessons to get me started, but I am soooooo excited.

Deb as both of us are South Wales beginners (I'm only Neath, so down the road!) we will have to compare notes!

Edited by SpaceChick

Welcome, both Debs!