Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Intustry standard 6 string bass? what would you recomend?

petercullenbassist

[quote name='petercullenbassist' timestamp='1335272474' post='1628379']
....Was going to get a musicman bongo 6, but couldnt see where there money was going....
[/quote]

It didn't go to the design team!

I'm not sure there is an "industry standard" 6 string bass. For 5ers I'd say Sadowsky, Lakland, MM, Fender, but for 6ers I don't know.

Overwaters are excellent and used by a lot of UK session players.

Having only ever played one 6 string, and mighty crap I was on it too :) I've very little knowledge of them. However, I saw a guy playing a Yamaha TRB a few weeks back, through a Line6Pod straight to the PA and it sounded absolutely brilliant.

I got talking to that particular bass playing and he loved it.

A Yamaha TRB seems a popular choice. Mind you, you could argue [i]the[/i] industry standard 6 stringer is the Fodera Anthony Jackson bass, saying as it has been so key to developing the concept of the 6 string bass as a whole.

In America, I'd say the industry standard 6 string bass is without a doubt a Ken Smith 6 string. It was practically a prerequisite in the US Gospel scene for nearly two decades, until other luthiers like MTD came into fashion.

[quote name='Chris2112' timestamp='1335300125' post='1629067']
In America, I'd say the industry standard 6 string bass is without a doubt a Ken Smith 6 string. It was practically a prerequisite in the US Gospel scene for nearly two decades, until other luthiers like MTD came into fashion.
[/quote]

I think that's true, although I've seen a lot of TRBs popping up too, probably due to their affordability next to KS's. Here's a decent example, incredible player

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9dwi52Ra0s&feature=relmfu[/media]

[quote name='TRBboy' timestamp='1335300450' post='1629074']