Why become a member? ×

Fingerstyle & Dumping The Pick

spongebob

I've been playing for a fair while now (early 90's) and although I started playing fingerstyle, I've been using a pick for most of that time.

Just found it easier, and that it suited the kind of stuff I was doing.

However, in recent months I seem to have changed my playing style. I used to play Rics, have switched to Precisions exclusively at the start of 2011, and have found that the change has given me more versatility in the way that I play.

At recent band practices, I've been doing more and more songs without the pick....and TBH, it sounds a lot better. Whereas sometimes I've struggled to be heard, the fingerstyle has allowed for a whole lot more bass in the tone....and hey presto....I can cut right alongside our (very loud and very mid-dy) guitarist. Pick songs then sounded thin in comparison.

I appreciate I'm talking to the converted here, but I just found it interesting as to how you can play for years, and still find room to change what you do and how you sound.

Now, more's the pity, I'll have to practice more.....!! :)

Do both and keep the pick going..but have a word with the gtr about encroaching on your sonic space...
The first thing a decent gtr should do if he knows where he overpowers a mix, is adjust his sound accordingly. This means, roll off some of that bass.

First rule of... IMO.

I've just started going the other way! After playing fingerstyle since about 1974 I've just started experimenting playing with a pick.
I've always done a bit on guitar too, so (trying to do)the technique isn't new to me.
I'm loving that 'clicky' sound with a roll of felt under the strings by the bridge too.

I'll give you a wave as our trains pass going in opposite directions!

[quote name='Len_derby' timestamp='1321356269' post='1438093']
I've just started going the other way! After playing fingerstyle since about 1974 I've just started experimenting playing with a pick.