Why become a member? ×

Are Bb Players Lazy?

Thurbs

It is my first time playing in a band outside the usual rock and pop thing so I have joined a 8 piece classical/ easy listening/jazz band. We have some clarinet and sax players and I understand their instruments are tuned to Bb. So when they play a C, it is Bb instead.

Putting aside the stupidity of such a instrument, why cant they play up two semi tones? Why do all the C players have to go down two semi-tones (sometimes on the fly!!)? Forgive my ignorance but is there a good reason for this other than them being lazy?!?!

I don't mind and this isn't a winge, more a question really.

It's much easier to transpose on bass or guitar than it is on horns. On bass it's just a case of shifting the same shape a couple of frets whilst on horns it's going to mean a whole new fingering. I get why they want to do it as it does make life easier

Of course that said when I used to be in a jam band we used to pick keys just to annoy the horns :)

I've had clarinets and saxes that were tuned to Bb, A and Eb.

One of the reasons is timbre. There's a heck of a difference between matched clarinets tuned to Bb and A, with the A sounding darker. C clarinets and saxes do exist but they sound like crap.

The main reason for having transposing instruments is historical. There's a fair bit of engineering that goes into producing a clarinet that can hit all the chromatic notes and early instruments had only a couple of accidental keys at best. For pieces that deviated from the home key by more than a couple of sharps or flats, you'd swap to an instrument that could handle it. Even today, the accidentals are a bit of a compromise, and the best tone is achieved by playing on an instrument that is close to the written key.