Why become a member? ×

Do I need to read music

aceuggy

I've been playing bass for a couple of years now and I only play for my own enjoyment on my own, or with a mate who is a guitarist. I sometimes think that I would quite like to play in a band, nothing too serious, just a bit of fun, but perhaps do the occasional gig. I can get by using tab, listening to a track and playing along. Would that be good enough to play with a band, or would I be out of my depth?

The honest answer is no. I was able to read music as a wee nipper(35 something years ago), and i've totally forgotten how to...... Been in many bands between then and now, and i've never been asked to read a chart. If i'm learning stuff for a new band, i'll ask for a chord chart and a recording if there is one. Failing that, a chord chart and a load of rehearsal.

Nige

[quote name='BigRedX' post='1003936' date='Oct 28 2010, 03:57 PM']You only need to read music to be in a band if that's the way the other members of the band communicate their musical ideas.[/quote]
So jazz is out. Count yourself lucky :)

I don't read either and I've been in many bands, some with records out.

[quote name='aceuggy' post='1003929' date='Oct 28 2010, 03:54 PM']I've been playing bass for a couple of years now and I only play for my own enjoyment on my own, or with a mate who is a guitarist. I sometimes think that I would quite like to play in a band, nothing too serious, just a bit of fun, but perhaps do the occasional gig. I can get by using tab, listening to a track and playing along. Would that be good enough to play with a band, or would I be out of my depth?[/quote]