Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

*NBD* MIJ Precision

CamdenRob

Picked up this beauty yesterday after seeing it on Gumtree.

1985 (allegedly) MIJ (allegedly) Fender (allegedly) Precision Bass...

Looks legit to me but I'm no expert and i'm pleased whatever it turns out to be.

It all seemed too easy really, I've been on the lookout for a P bass, just sold a jazz, price was good and the bloke selling it lived round the corner...

I haven't owned a P bass since a god awful squire that put me off them twenty years ago. This one is light and sounds fantastic with the tone rolled all the way off. I didn't like the flats it had on it so after a quick change to prosteels the sound was warm, smooth and punchy. Might take this along to rehearsal tonight for some of the acoustic songs I don't need the sixer for.

Anyway some pics... pretty much mint.

Cost me £375 including the (tastefully lined) Hiscox case.

Nice colour/neck combo! :)

What makes you suspect (allegedly) that it may not be what it was claimed to be? The price seems very good (especially with the case) - although I didn't realise that Fender were making basses in Japan quite as early as that...

You could check the serial number with Fender themselves if you want to be sure

Edited by Conan

[quote name='Conan' timestamp='1404976296' post='2497378']
Nice colour/neck combo! :)

What makes you suspect (allegedly) that it may not be what it was claimed to be? The price seems very good - although I didn't realise that Fender were making basses in Japan quite as early as that...

You could check the serial number with Fender themselves if you want to be sure
[/quote]

Serial number checks out :)

I'm just a pessimist at heart, whenever I seem to get a bargain on something it later turns out something is wrong with it!

That looks like a winner Rob.

I've been impressed with the quality of the Japanese Fenders and really think they represent great value.