Why become a member? ×

Hi from Vancouver, Canada!

donkelley

Hi there,

I'm a 44 year old musician on the west coast of Canada! Hope it's ok that I signed up for your forum :-D

I've played bass on repeated minor sessions a zillion times over the years and done my part as a pro musician before having kids with my wife.

Now I just play remote sessions out of my home studio and dream of getting back to playing live.

Basses (UPDATED):
- 2 US-made EBMM 5 string Sub basses, one fretted, one fretless (these are basically 5 string classic stingrays with ugly finishes to cover the poplar bodies)
- Ibanez BTB556 natural finish 6 string ERB (much nicer than what I had before)
- Ibanez BTB405QM
- Hagstrom HB-8

Amp:
- Ampeg PF-350
- Traynor TC-112 cab with Eminence 2512 speaker instead of stock celestion
- Behringer Bass V-Amp Pro (yes, seriously, and yes it's really REALLY good and useful)

Lots(!) of guitars, a banjo, mandolin, really good classical violin (approx 350 years old, my instrument of training), viola, electric violin, 2 acoustic guitars, roland drum kit, couple of synths (novation, yamaha), korg digital piano, a lap steel guitar, a cajon, and I'm sure some other things I'm forgetting about.

But I have been most successful as a violinist and bass guitarist mostly over the years, followed by electric guitar, then drums. I've played each of them on other people's albums over the years... although I don't remember a lot of the gigs I've had which I'm sure must have been entertaining LoL

Edited by donkelley

All are welcome here, no matter how far from our .uk domain they might be; so a big hello and come on in from Ez Towers.

Mrs Ez and I have been regular visitors to BC and Van for many years and seeing a new BCer (BassChat, British Columbia; this could get confusing) from your neck of the woods in BC (see what I mean :) ) makes me yearn for the costal range and English Bay (a pizza from Hell's Kitchen in Kitsilano would sit just right about now).