Why become a member? ×

how do jam/open mic nights work ?

ahpook

a few people (included our very own munkonthehill) have suggested to me that i should have a go at some jam nights, but i've got a couple of questions...

how do they work, tune-wise ? do the band sort out a chord progression for the song, do they stick to common arrangements like blues/jazz standards or just wing it ?

once you're there, how are the bands made up (is it like pool ? winner stays on :) ) ?

am i good enough ?

i know these questions are a bit 'how long is a bit of string', but some ideas would be helpful.

despite playing for over 20 years i'm still quite nervous about my playing (which is why i've never tried this kind of thing before), and i'd like to know what i'm letting myself in for.

[quote name='ahpook' post='1240026' date='May 22 2011, 09:35 AM']a few people (included our very own munkonthehill) have suggested to me that i should have a go at some jam nights, but i've got a couple of questions...

how do they work, tune-wise ? do the band sort out a chord progression for the song, do they stick to common arrangements like blues/jazz standards or just wing it ?

once you're there, how are the bands made up (is it like pool ? winner stays on :) ) ?

am i good enough ?

i know these questions are a bit 'how long is a bit of string', but some ideas would be helpful.

despite playing for over 20 years i'm still quite nervous about my playing (which is why i've never tried this kind of thing before), and i'd like to know what i'm letting myself in for.[/quote]

There used to be one around East London run by a friend I havn't seen in a while. Bloodaxe used to go there too. I'll catch up with him and let you know.

Cheers

IME there are very few genuine jam nights, as in a bunch of musicians getting up on stage and just ... erm ... playing.