Why become a member? ×

P bass GAS driving me mad

luckman67

Recently I have had really bad GAS for a Precision bass,which is strange considering that when I started learning the bass guitar back in 1987 the only basses for beginners were either P or J style. So for the next 20 years I tried to avoid these type of basses,right up until Christmas 2008. My girlfriend bought me back my old 1989 Squier Precision & since then the urge for either a secondhand MIM or HW1 Precision has been driving me mad,& I can't understand why.

There even seems to be more threads regarding P basses, is there a renewed interest in the Precision or is it that after 23 years I may just like the simple passive beauty of one pickup & one volume and tone.

Without wanting to be the devil on yr shoulder, as opposed to the angel, do it - you know you want to.

Think the humble P Bass has always been popular, but that many people after having tried this bass, these features, that manufacturer etc, come to the realisation that what is special about the P Bass is in fact it`s simplicity, and the way that it just sits in the mix so well. Many other basses sound far better on their own, but in a band context the P Bass just works so well.

[quote name='luckman67' post='955382' date='Sep 13 2010, 09:02 PM']......the Squier is a nice bass BUT I would guess that the Fender version would be better.[/quote]

Not necessarily.
If your 1989 Squier is a good one (most were), I'd definitely hold on to it. You can always upgrade the pickups, if you feel the need to.

Edited by nick