Why become a member? ×

Compressor or limiter?

Ancient Mariner

Bass-novice here, as you're probably aware still.

I've been playing around a bit with different techniques, and one of the things that's obvious is that mixing rounded finger style tones with slapping and popping is impossible because of the volume differences. In the guitar world I'd throw a compressor at it (I love compression on guitar anyway, especially clean guitar) but on a bass it just seems to muddy-up the tone. Would I be correct in thinking that what is really required here is limiting, to prevent the enormous peaks in signal breaking through?

I quite like the sound of just the bass + amp, and don't want to spoil that. My instinct would be to put a volume pedal after the limiter in the signal chain, thus controlling both peaks and overall volume without sucking life from the tone.

the difference between a compressor and limiter is explained very well [url="http://www.ovnilab.com/articles/limiter.shtml"]here[/url]

once youve read that have a look at the whole of that site. its got reviews for looooads of different compressors

[quote name='Ancient Mariner' post='764998' date='Mar 5 2010, 12:15 PM']Bass-novice here, as you're probably aware still.

I've been playing around a bit with different techniques, and one of the things that's obvious is that mixing rounded finger style tones with slapping and popping is impossible because of the volume differences. In the guitar world I'd throw a compressor at it (I love compression on guitar anyway, especially clean guitar) but on a bass it just seems to muddy-up the tone. Would I be correct in thinking that what is really required here is limiting, to prevent the enormous peaks in signal breaking through?