Why become a member? ×

Fingers!

faceman

Afternoon all,

After a standard 2 hour band practise today, I noticed my fingers are now in a shocking state. The skin on my index and middle fingers on my left hand are pretty bad, with the top layer of skin leaving a hole on the index finger while my right hand was in agony. The middle and index fingers are bruised, dirty and generally hurting when they contact anything!

I've been playing bass since February 2007 and I just don't understand how at this point they have gotten so bad. Just using my laptop now with my right hand is uncomfortable. It's bloody annoying because I need to keep practising for a big upcoming gig but it's so painful using my right hand that I have to use thumb and pick, both of which aren't ideal for some rhythms.,

One immediate thought is strings but they are standard D'Addorios roundwounds that I have been using for years so I'm not sure if is this? Playing style? Size of the frets?

Honestly, I get very tired of my 4003 sometimes. The ergonomics are ridiculous and it can be so painful to play. Even reaching for an octave on a note can be pretty bad - the chorus of one of our songs does this and I can barely keep it up because my third finger can't reach very well and my pink isn't strong enough. There are so days I long for the neck of my Daryl Jones again!

Seb

Sounds to me like you'd be wise to consider medical advice. If the bass is a pig to play, change it. I had a beautiful Jazz bass that gave me shooting pains up my left arm. I got rid of it and have never had a problem since. Are you used to playing reguarly? Do you warm up? It's difficult to know what to say based on what you have said i.e. without seeing your injury and knowing more background